It’s Movie Time!

I had decided a month before we were to start essay 3 to write on True Grit (although Blazing Saddles was a close second thought).  I loved John Wayne as a little girl and watched all his movies.  They were the only western movies that I can recall ever being interested in.  Forget Clint Eastwood, I loved the swagger John Wayne had in his stride.  So after clearing my desk of the debrid of Essay 2, I asked my son if he could look to see if Netflix had the 1969 movie (they did remake the movie in 2010 but it was not on the list nor did I want to watch a John Wayne film that didn’t have him in it!)  He searched and said that it was available and set it up for me to access on the Wii in the family room.  There I sat poised with pen and notebook along with a bag of popcorn and soda to boot.  The only thing missing were the JuJu beans.  As the film began and the characters made their debut in the movie, John Wayne just didn’t look like the Rooster Cogburn that I remember, and what was Matt Damon doing in the film!?!  Yep, wrong version!  I tried to search the Netflix database for the 1969 version but was totally unsuccessful.  Bummer…

My only option now was to either a) search the city of Louisville for a copy in the numerous stores that sell vidoes or, b) order it from an online source.  My sister told me that if I ordered a new copy from Amazon that I would be sure to get it on a couple days since their fulfillment center is in Hebron, KY.  Taking her advise I ordered my copy and had it sent standard shipping thinking that it would just be a day or two.  How long could it take to get to me?  Hebron is just in my backyard practically! 

Time is ticking away and I’m getting nervous.  Homework is piling up and I still haven’t received the movie!  Five days later, the movie finally arrives, just in time to compete with an already busy weekend.  I could have drove a few miles up the road, picked the movie up at the fulfillment center and have already reviewed and have a rough draft already typed out! 

Moral of the story, I should have asked it to be sent “Pony Express’!

 

2 responses to “It’s Movie Time!

  1. You can always look in Half Book on Hurstborne Lane if you haven’t found one yet. I am watching Rio Bravo starring John Wayne and Dean Martin I found it there good condition for $4.99. It was a pretty good movie I remember when it came out. Good Luck with Essay 3.

    • You and I sound alike in the type A personality department. 🙂 I also seem to always come down to the wire about getting things done, but somehow it always works out. I ended up going to our local Family Video store and renting Tombstone. Ten days rental was only one dollar. Can’t beat that! I also like John Wayne. There are some actors that just pull off western like no one else and he’s one of them. Good luck with your paper and pulling everything together. I’m sure you will do just fine!

Leave a Reply

